Search This Blog

Tuesday, 25 November 2014

The Prisoner

    When considering the 17 episodes of Prisoner, it is found that they fall into three broad categories: Escape, Revolt, and Resistance.
The Chimes of Big Ben
Free For All
The Schizoid Man
Many Happy Returns
Fall Out

The General
Hammer Into Anvil
It’s Your Funeral
A Change of Mind

A B and C
Hammer Into Anvil
A Change of Mind
Once Upon A time

    Although a number of episodes could fit into more than one category, there are three episodes which do not fall into any of the above categories. ‘Dance of the Dead,’ which although has nods towards revolt and resistance, contains no plan, by either Number Six or Number Two, no enterprise formed or denied. There is a plan in ‘Do Not Forsake Me Oh My Darling,’ yet resistance is thin on the ground, and what they did to Number 6 was revolting. And really that’s as far as this episode gets to any of the three broad categories.
  ‘Living In harmony,’ although there is a plan, resistance is only found in The Man with No Name as he resists the Judges efforts to make him work for him as Sheriff, to wear a sheriff’s badge, and a gun. And later perhaps escape, when The Man With No Name and Cathy plan to leave Harmony together. Yet again these are only vague nods towards to of the three categories.
   It is possible to add a forth category, that of Survival, which would include; Many Happy Returns, Do Not Forsake Me Oh My Darling, and The Girl Who Was Death. The Prisoner, and his survival against the elements, as he sails on his voyage of discovery. ZM73, surviving as himself. And finally Mr. X, who fights to survive against the attacks of The Girl, who is trying to kill him.

Be seeing you

No comments:

Post a Comment