Search This Blog

Wednesday 20 September 2017

Page 6

    It is, isn’t it, isn’t it different? No, ‘the Prisoner’ is basically the same, unless one messes it about. ‘Fall Out’ is where ‘the Prisoner’ begins, the start of ‘Arrival’ being at the end of the episode, so you could place that particular episode at either end of the series. In other words watch ‘Fall Out’ first and last, I did once, and it worked. Both ‘Arrival’ and ‘Once Upon A time’ are set in concrete, and cannot be moved, I think everyone would agree with that. And yet there are a further 3 episodes which however placed must follow in sequence, otherwise they make a mockery of each other. ‘Free For All’ must precede both ‘Many Happy Returns’ and ‘Dance of The Dead’ simply on the grounds of the local elections. In ‘Many Happy Returns’ the Colonel reads about a Town Council and asking if Number 6 had been a member. Number 6 said he could have been as the Town Council is elected once a year. And ‘Dance of The Dead’ must follow both those episodes as by that time the terribly inefficient democratic process has been done away with! There are a further two episodes which could run consecutively, those being ‘The General’ and ‘A B and C.’ Why that way around? Because in the one Number 2 announces himself in the opening sequence as the new Number 2, whereas in the latter he’s just Number 2. I suppose it’s possible that two further episodes could theoretically run consecutively, ‘The Chimes of Big Ben’ and ‘Once Upon A Time.’ The only trouble with that is, the fact that Number 2 must have been away from The Village, because he was brought back there for ‘Once Upon A Time!” The remaining 8 episodes could then be jumbled up and slotted into the remaining gaps in the sequence the viewer may care to put them in, or not as the case maybe. For example there are certain episodes I might care to leave out, ‘Do Not Forsake Me Oh My Darling’ for one, but then I would miss the music, ‘Living In Harmony’ for another, ‘The Schizoid Man’ would be a third because its flawed and didn’t need to be. Perhaps ‘The Girl Who Was Death’ for a fourth, because it’s more ‘Danger Man’ than Prisoner, ‘It’s Your Funeral,’ and ‘A Change of Mind’ to make 6, leaving only ‘Checkmate’ and ‘Hammer Into Anvil’ left to place for a mini-series of 11 episodes. Perhaps I’d place ‘Free For All,’ followed by ‘Checkmate,’ after all in the former. Number 6 did promise to find out who are the warders and who the prisoners, something he did in the latter, for what good it did him!

Be seeing you

No comments:

Post a Comment